Principal Kelly Seboe Receives 2020 Making Middle Grades Work Leadership Award


Kelly Seboe, Principal, Budd School, is the recipient of the 2020 MMGW Intermediate/Elementary Leadership Award: You’ve Achieved Something Great. Budd School serves students in grades 4 through 6 in the Loudonville-Perrysville Exempted Village Schools. Award winners were nominated by district and school leaders based on their accomplishments in implementing the High Schools That Work (HSTW) or Making Middle Grades Work (MMGW) school improvement design. HSTW NE Ohio Region, a program of the Ohio Department of Education, and HSTW Ohio Network, a nonprofit organization, selected winners based upon their leadership in creating HSTW/MMGW high performing school improvement cultures and increasing student achievement.

Mr. Seboe is one of six award winners in northeast Ohio receiving a 2020 HSTW/MMGW Leadership Award:

●  2020 MMGW Elementary/Intermediate School Leadership Award (K-5): You Achieved Something Great!

Kelly Seboe, Principal, Budd School, Loudonville-Perrysville Exempted Village Schools

●  2020 HSTW CTE Leadership Award: You Achieved Something Great!

Ralph Sandy, Principal, Mahoning County Career & Technical Center

●  2020 HSTW District Leadership Award: You Achieved Something Great!

Jeremy Corbisello, Assistant Superintendent, Columbiana County Career & Technical Center

●  2020 HSTW High School Leadership Award (9-12): You Achieved Something Great!

Robert Clarke, Principal, Indian Valley High School, Indian Valley Local Schools

●  2020 MMGW Middle School Leadership Award (6-8): You Achieved Something Great! Mary Jo DiPietro and Angie Penner, Math Teachers, Indian Creek Middle School, Indian Creek Local Schools


Diana Rogers, Regional Coordinator, HSTW NE Ohio Region and Terry Wheeler, Interim Executive Director, HSTW Ohio Network, stated “Kelly Seboe exemplifies the type of leadership needed to create teaching and learning cultures that ensure more students are success and ready to transition to the next grade, on grade-level.”

Kelly Seboe’s education career includes 15 years working in the Loudonville-Perrysville Exempted Village Schools with five years as a principal. In his leadership role at the Budd School, Mr. Seboe has worked to ensure that teachers are included in the decision-making process, and that all students are prepared for success at the next grade level. A teacher stated, “Mr. Seboe saw our test scores in June (2019) before the end of the school year and saw that what we were providing for our students was not enough to help them be successful.” Beginning with the 2019 school year, Kelly decided to make significant changes in the school schedule and the assignment of teachers to address the support needed for all students. The teachers have embraced these changes and have used this year to provide the interventions needed to help students in all grade levels make gains and close gaps in the area of language arts and phonics/reading levels.

Major Accomplishments:

*Re-assigning teacher positions to support the new instruction and intervention strategies.  One teacher assigned to teach both science and social studies in grades 4 and 6 since these subjects are untested.  Adding a writing course in grades 4 and 6.  Previously, writing was not a separate course, but was taught in reading.

*Using multiple assessments to establish benchmark data to monitor intervention strategies.  Sources of data include: Ohio State Tests, Diagnostic Spelling Assessment, and AIMSWEB Plus data.

*Training all teachers in the selected reading instructional and intervention strategies such as "Words Their Way," in providing the phonics/spelling based on students specific needs. Other strategies addressed reading comprehension assistance.

*Exploring strategies using Strively to engage students by reading with them and working on math facts.

Due to the coronavirus and school closures, Kelly Seboe will be recognized at a regional and virtual award presentation. For more details, contact HSTW NE Ohio Region Office 740.869.2650 or Budd School 419.994.3327.

HSTW NE Ohio Region is one of four regional offices supporting Ohio districts and schools that have voluntarily adopted the HSTW or MMGW school improvement design ( HSTW NE Ohio Region is an Ohio Department of Education, HSTW regional grant recipient and has been serving HSTW/MMGW sites in northeast Ohio for over 20 years. Ohio joined the HSTW and MMGW national school improvement efforts in 2000 as part of the Southern Regional Education Board’s (SREB) HSTW Ohio Network (

HSTW Ohio Network, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, was formed in 2003 to support schools and organizations with the implementation of recognized K-12 school improvement frameworks. (